Tags

, , , , ,

DSC_0441This past weekend my niece Ella celebrated her 1st birthday and a first birthday wouldn’t be complete without a party! My sister did a great job of organizing a fun party with family and friends and had lots of activities for the littles- including decorating party hats, cupcakes and face painting!

DSC_0452My sister asked me to set up Ella’s birthday table- I did one for my nephew Liam last spring, which you can see here. You may also remember the oversized party candles I made a few months ago for this party.  To the candles, I added a banner made out of felt that we hung on the wall, a giant “1” made out of foam board, some painted wooden letters and a pom pom garland.

DSC_0453For the banner, I cut pennants and letters out of felt- I hot glued the letters to the pennants, and the pennants to pink ribbon. I think the banner looked cute hanging on the wall, and it can definitely be used again for future parties.
DSC_0440To make the number 1, I used a piece of foam board. Using a ruler, I drew out the number and used an Xacto knife to cut it out. I painted it using craft paint in two colours. These are so simple and inexpensive to make, you don’t have to feel guilty if you only use them once.

After the party, we sort of joked that we could use all of these decorations again next year, and all I’ll have to make is a big “2”! Here’s a photo of the birthday girl herself- basically every photo of her from that day is a blur.. she’s always on the move!
DSC_0456What are some of your favourite party decorations?

