Tags

, , , ,

Krista and I are so lucky to have crafty friends who really appreciate the whole DIY world. Today we’d like to welcome our sweet friend Mia to the blog to share her adorable DIY Christmas ornaments with us!

Hello InvitedDIY readers! My name is Mia and I became friends with Kerri and Krista during our Event Management course at Niagara College. As a follower of their blog, I am always amazed by the continuous projects they have on the go. I love crafts, but to be honest I rarely make the effort to get creative in my spare time. That mentality of mine changed as I was brainstorming Christmas gifts for my closest friends. I figured this was the perfect opporunity to put my creative skills to use and give them something Made by Mia!

I remembered I saw a homemade Christmas ball on (where else?) Pinterest so I thought I would add my own personal twist to it. As much as people may hate driving in it, I think snow is really beautiful. A “white Christmas” was the only type of Christmas I experienced growing up in Toronto. Sadly due to environmental changes, it has become a thing of the past. So the phrase “Let it Snow” was my inspiration for my Christmas ornament creation!

I knew precisely that I wanted the ribbon to be turquoise and the font to be silver. My plan was to pour artificial snow and white glitter inside the ball so I figured the ribbon would really pop against the white. After a few online searches, I ordered a personalized roll off of Weddingstar and it arrived 4 days earlier than expected!
photo 1 (2)
My next mission: finding clear balls. After vigorously searching stores in downtown Toronto with no luck (Target, Canadian Tire, Rona, Lowes, Home Depot, dollar stores, Sears and the Bay) I finally made the trek to a Michaels store in North Toronto. Of course, Michaels had them. Michaels has everything. Lesson Learned.

photo 2 (3)The first step I took was removing the top of the ornaments and pouring in artificial snow (from Target) and white glitter (from Michaels) into the ball. I did this step first in case I had to wipe down any spilled snow/glitter on the outside of the ball, which I did have to do. After placing the top back on, I gave it a good shake to mix everything together. Finally, I secured the pre-cut ribbon with a hot glue gun.

photo (2)I really enjoyed assembling these ornaments for my friends! The whole process reminded me that it’s never too late to pick up an old hobby. It looks like I’ll be a bit busier in 2014!

 

