Tags

, , ,

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about s’mores. I don’t know why, since it’s not exactly campfire season, but I’ve been thinking about them nonetheless. So it’s not surprising that I wanted to incorporate chocolate and marshmallows into a few Christmas treats this year. I found this first idea online and it barely even needs an explanation. I dipped graham crackers into melted chocolate and sprinkled on a few mini marshmallows. The idea is sort of like a pre-made s’more. They’re ready to go anytime and you could even heat them in the oven or for a few seconds in the microwave to get the marshmallows all gooey. Perfection!
DSC_0348DSC_0352I came up with this next idea while thinking about hot chocolate spoons- you know, when you dip a spoon in melted chocolate and then sprinkle on other candies. The idea being you stir your hot chocolate with it and it all melts into the drink. It seems like a good idea, but I just pictured myself forgetting to actually use them and wondered about a better way to get extra, unneeded sugar into my hot chocolate. So then I decided to just cut out the middle part and dip marshmallows directly into chocolate. Since adding a few marshmallows is something I’d do anyway, this just made sense. I dipped marshmallows in melted chocolate (you could also coat them entirely!) and sprinkled on peppermint candy, skor bits, and some I drizzled with melted caramel. Let me tell you- these are so good! Even just as a little treat without the hot chocolate! And they look so nice in this glass jar that is now sitting on my counter (taunting me).
DSC_0354DSC_0363The moral of the story is that dipping anything in melted chocolate makes it better. Happy holiday baking!

