Tags

, ,

If you’ve been following the blog you may recall two weeks ago my initial post on my plan to update my office. Part of my ongoing office update was to add a dry erase board to the space to use for planning and making lists, both of which are a constant in my life. I started my search for ideas and inspiration to make a practical but pretty dry erase board. I found this awesome planning calendar from The Design Files office that I used for inspiration for my board.

Next I was in search of materials to complete the project, the main material being of course the dry erase board. There seem to be lots of options out there for making dry erase boards, including paint. Luckily in my search I found this blog by a teacher who made DIY dry erase boards out of a type of panel board.

I was able to find the same panel board as listed in the blog and had it cut in store in three pieces, for the simple fact that it needed to fit in my car.

Here are all of the materials I used:

  • Panel board, cut to size (I had mine cut in 3 pieces, each piece 1 1/2 ft x 6 ft)
  • Drywall screws
  • Simple wood trim
  • Acrylic paint
  • Sponge brush
  • Finishing nails
  • Craft tape
  • Coloured masking tape
  • Dry erase markers

Erase Board | Invited DIY

Polka dot craft tape with gold painted wood trim

Polka dot craft tape with gold painted wood trim

DIY Dry Erase Board | Invited DIYBrad secured the panel board to the wall using the drywall screws. I painted the trim in a metallic gold paint. The trim was secured to the wall using the finishing nails. I used the masking tape and craft tape to finish off the board and cover the seams and edges. The tape also helped cover the screws.

I divided my board up, marking sections out for the next 10 months, an area for important dates and a space for some inspiring quotes.

I’m really happy with the results and it came together quite easily (thanks to Brad) and for about $50 it was a reasonably priced project.

I did my best to capture the board in photos; however taking pictures of it without a glare was no easy task.

What are your favourite ways of staying organized?