Tags

,

Continuing with our apple theme, I was looking for some inspiration after Kerri’s apple doughnut (didn’t those doughnuts look great?!) post to make something new with the apples we had picked. I was planning to make an apple pie, but scratched that idea and instead thought about a quick and easier version. I finally settled on making an apple pie smoothie. At first I was skeptical, seeing as I have never used whole apples in a smoothie before, apple juice yes, but the apple itself. My other hurdle was how would I make it creamy, would it be weird to add milk?

Well I threw caution to the wind and decided to just throw some ingredients in a blender that would normally go in an apple pie or like dessert and see how it tasted. I did actually keep track of what I put in just in case it worked out!

I was really happy with how it turned out and I will definitely be making more throughout the fall. It’s a quick and easy way to combine your favourite apple pie flavours. Now I realize a smoothie is not an apple pie and will never actually be like an apple pie but this smoothie reflects some of the flavours of an apple pie.

I added the ground almonds and oats to simulate the crust and add thickness to the smoothie. If you’d prefer to substitute the maple syrup I’d recommend adding a few dates for a sweetener.

Apple Pie Smoothie | Invited DIY

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups of peeled and chopped apple (I used one large apple)
  • 1/2 cup of almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 tablespoons ground almonds
  • 2 tablespoons rolled oats
  • 2 teaspoons of maple syrup

Add ingredients into the blender in order listed. Blend on high-speed until all ingredients are processed and you have a smooth apple pie smoothie!

Fresh local apples are just one of my many favourite things about fall!

What are some of your favourite fall ‘flavours’?

