Tags

,

Anyone who owns bikes and lives in a small space without access to proper and safe (aka monitored and secured) bike storage can probably understand my frustration. Since the Spring two bikes have occupied my living room or bedroom and recently a third bike was added. Maneuvering around them is tricky, although they do come in handy after laundry, serving as additional drying racks.

I’ve wanted some sort of rack built for awhile now. I just never made it a priority to follow through on buying the materials. Thankfully Brad is able to take my crazy ideas and photos saved on Pinterest and make a plan.

DIY Bike Rack | Invited DIY

Using some plumbing pipe and wood, Brad made a home for my bikes. All of the materials listed below (pool noodle excluded) can be found at a hardware store.

Materials

  • 2 x 1′ x 2″ x 4″ pieces of wood
  • 4 hooks with screws
  • Pieces of pool noodle or foam
  • 3/4″ steel pipe
  • 3/4″ pipe fittings and two end caps
  • 2 u-bolts with nuts

Steps

  • Measure floor to ceiling height. Purchase enough pieces of pipe to fit the length needed. Connect pipes and fittings. Note you may need to tighten or loosen the fittings so that the pipes fit in between the ceiling and floor securely.
  • Drill holes into the wood for the u-bolt. On the other side of the wood across from those holes drill larger holes that will fit the nuts.
  • Decide on the height that you would like each bike to rest and secure the u-bolt around the pipe and add the wood and nuts to secure wood. Screw hooks to wood and add pool noodle or foam to hook.

It’s so nice to finally have a home for my bikes and I feel like I have so much extra space in my room.

What storage solutions have you created in your small space?

