Tags

, , , ,

Lately I’ve been looking for ideas for cake toppers. I think they are such an easy way to dress up an otherwise plain cake or cupcakes. I decided to make some using cookie cutters so I picked up a few jungle animal shapes and decided to paint them. It would have been a lot faster and easier to spray paint them, but I already had craft paint at home so I used a paintbrush for these. Once they were dry I used a hot glue gun to secure two wooden skewers to the bottoms. All that was left to do was to whip up a batch of cupcakes (just to be very thorough… and because they’re delicious). And voila! How cute are these?
DSC_0585They would be so easy to do for a themed party and you could choose cookie cutters that match the theme. If you put them in cupcakes, each person could bring home their cookie cutter as a party favour- because once you remove the skewers they would be great for kids to trace or to cut out play dough shapes. You could also bake a cake and use a few cookie cutters on top to finish it off.
DSC_0583 DSC_0581

What’s your favourite way to spruce up a cake?

