Tags

, ,

This past weekend Krista and I decided to stop in at a little antique store we always pass by as we’re heading out of town. The store is just outside of London and I pass it each time I head north and think “I should really stop there…” but in 2 years of living here I never have! It’s called ‘Mr. Haney’s Market’ and it was great. It’s no secret Krista and I love a good antiquing stop, so we loved exploring here. If I had more space in my apartment I would probably have been able to justify several pieces of furniture… however in reality I have no place to put it right now. We snapped a few photos- we just loved this tandem bicycle and Krista has her eye on this white patio set.
DSC_0198 DSC_0199

Our next stop was sort of impromptu. Just outside of London there is a town called Arva- and they have the sweetest looking flour mill right off of the main road. Both of us had always thought about stopping in, but again, when we’re on our way out of or back into the city we never seem to have the time.  So today was the day: we stopped in at the Arva Flour Mill and we can both say it won’t be the last time. Not only is the property beautiful but they have charming little shops that have everything from gourmet cooking ingredients to- you guessed it- different varieties of flour. I picked up a buttermilk muffin mix that I am excited to try out soon.
DSC_0200 DSC_0201 DSC_0202 DSC_0203 DSC_0204 DSC_0208 DSC_0209

If this weekend outing taught me anything, it would be that sometimes going out of your way and usual routine can bring you to new places that will soon be added to your favourites list. Not everywhere you venture to will be amazing, but we both agreed that we will be going back the flour mill again for unique and pure ingredients.

Do you have any favourite spots that are off the beaten path?

