Tags

, ,

Lately I’ve been trying to find new ways to cook with avocados. I’m a huge fan and usually have them on hand at all times. In my searching for recipes I started to see a lot that used avocados as the main ingredient for a creamy pasta sauce. Well, my love of avocados is only rivaled by my love of pasta so I knew I had to try it. And the result? Delicious!

Most of the recipes I read had very similar ingredients like avocados, herbs and citrus.  Basically what I decided is as long as you’re using flavours you like you can’t really mess this up. Here’s how I made mine:

2 ripe avocados
Juice of 1 lemon
Fresh basil (to taste)
2 cloves garlic
Dash of salt
¼ olive oil (could be adjusted if your sauce is too thick)

I blended everything in the food processor until it was smooth. After the pasta was cooked I mixed everything in a large bowl. This meal is something I could even make for Krista- buuuuut since she wasn’t over for dinner I grated a bit of fresh parmesan cheese on top (totally optional). Or you could add some vegan cheese- Krista posted some recipes here. This is a sauce I will be coming back to again and again- and the best part is it’s versatile so next time I could sub-in a different herb and use fresh lime juice for a bit of different flavouring. Bon appetite!

Pasta

