Tags

,

This past weekend with the help of my two sous chefs bakers (Spencer and Kristopher), I made vegan sugar cookies using a recipe from my Grandma. Whenever I visit home it seems I’m asked “can we make sugar cookies” or “can we make doughnuts” or “can I use your laptop”, oh the many joys of being the oldest sibling.  In all seriousness, I really do like baking with them as it’s something we can do together that for once does not involve a video game or other electronic device, well excluding the hand mixer! I no longer have to hide what I’m using in the baking as they are aware of the vegan ingredients I use and seem to enjoy the final product as much as, if not more than non-vegan ones.

Vegan Easter Sugar Cookies

Cookie Ingredients
– 4 cups of flour
– 1 cup of Earth Balance Butter
– 1 cup of sugar (I used brown)
– 1 Enger-G egg substitute
– 1/2 tsp baking powder
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 1/4 tsp salt

Icing Ingredients (optional)
– 2 cups of powdered sugar
– 1/2 cup of almond milk
– 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions
Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees F. Mix flour, baking powder and salt in one bowl. In a separate small bowl mix egg substitute according to directions on box. In a separate larger bowl (suitable for mixing) add softened butter, egg substitute, vanilla and sugar. Mix ingredients together. Slowly add dry ingredients to this mixture to create your dough. Optional – place wrapped dough in refrigerator for 1 hour. Roll out dough on lightly floured surface and use your favorite easter or spring cookie cutters. If you had dough in refrigerator let it sit for 20-30 minutes to get to room temperature. Place cookies on greased cookie sheet and bake for 7-8 minutes. Let cookies cool. Mix powdered sugar and almond milk together. Add vanilla and mix. Top cookies with icing and sprinkles of your choice.

Vegan Sugar Cookies | Invited DIY   Vegan Sugar Cookies 1 | Invited DIY

Vegan Sugar Cookies 2 | Invited DIY  Vegan Sugar Cookies 3 | Invited DIY
What types of treats do you plan to indulge in for Easter?

