Tags

, ,

On the weekend I attended a home tour with my Mom, Nana and some family friends. The house tour is organized by a local  nursery school, Jack & Jill. All of my siblings, including myself attended this nursery school so it’s become a bit of a tradition to support the school each year through this event.

If you’ve never been on a home tour, typically there are a group of houses in the area that are either decorated by the home owner or a local decorator or florist. This year there were 6 houses on the tour.

Midway through the tours we stopped at one of the shops in town – Mocha Violet. The store has lots of great gifts ideas, ornaments, and much more to get your home holiday ready! I was able to scoop up a few gifts for the people on my list as well as some gifts for myself.

Mocha Violet

Mocha Violet

After the tours we all went back to my mom’s house and had a nice dinner together – potato and leek soup, garlic roasted sweet potatoes and squash, biscuits, assorted veggies and hummus, and fruit and dip. It was an entire vegan meal and no one even noticed!

I’ve posted some photos below of the decorations. Some of the houses used non-traditional Christmas colours like pink and purple. The one house had a Santa hat as a tree topper which I thought was creative.

Chatham-Kent-20121201-00635

Chatham-Kent-20121201-00647
Chatham-Kent-20121201-00636a
The home tours are a great way to get decorating ideas and celebrate the holidays. I’m excited to continue the holiday activities this weekend. Brad and I are off to the Niagara-on-the-Lake Christmas parade, I can’t wait!

What Christmas or holiday traditions do you have?

