Tags

,

It’s no secret that I am completely in love with peanut butter. I could eat it for breakfast, lunch and dessert- peanut butter ice cream is one of my favourites. Recently I had someone tell me they sprinkle a spoonful of peanut butter with chocolate chips and eat it right off the spoon. Clearly I had to try it for myself and it was amazing! This sent me on a hunt for other peanut butter ideas I was missing out on. I found the idea of peanut butter granola and knew it was something I would like. The first recipe I tried was good, but the granola didn’t stick together like it showed in the pictures. I thought I would change a few things and try it again. I also decided that making some additions like dried cranberries or chocolate chips wouldn’t be the worst idea. I was planning on separating mine into two halves and adding dried fruit to one and chocolate chips to the other… however while I was sampling the chocolate chips (this is a very important step in baking!) I decided to just go with my good friend chocolate this time around… Here’s what I came up with!

Here’s the recipe I used:

2 cups rolled oats (not instant)
¾ cup almond meal (if you can’t find this, you can grind up slivered almonds)
¼ cup olive oil
½ cup honey
¼ cup peanut butter
½ tsp vanilla
¼ tsp cinnamon (optional)

Optional: ¼ cup chocolate chips or ¼ cup dried fruit

Mix dry ingredients in a bowl then add all wet ingredients. Spread evenly on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake at 300 degrees for 20 minutes (or until golden brown). Remove from the oven and allow granola to cool completely (you may want to separate from the parchment while it’s still a bit warm). Then break up into bite sized pieces- these can be stored in Tupperware or mason jars.

This is a great treat to enjoy on it’s own, in a bowl with milk, over plain yogurt or with fresh fruit.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do!

