Tags

, , ,

While studying Event Management in 2008-09, Krista and I became close friends. For as much as our classmates studied, planned and volunteered together it’s no surprise that we made many other friends too. Three years after graduating, we still get together every few months for an “EM reunion”. Since our group is spread out, we often alternate cities. We always have so much fun catching up, sharing stories and having new adventures. On Labour Day weekend we headed out to Toronto for our latest reunion. The weekend included a trip to the beach, board games and a Toronto Blue Jays baseball game (sadly they lost that day). As the weekend was coming to and end we were already starting to plan our next reunion!

Krista and I decided to pack a few homemade treats for the drive. A road trip with a friend is only made better when you add in good snacks. I decided to make apple chips- my grandma always had them at her house when I was young and I just loved them. And really, popping sliced apples with cinnamon in the oven is a great snack to make when you still have last-minute packing to do (I always seem to be packing up to the very end).

Here’s how I made our road trip apple chips: I sliced 2 apples across, took off the ends and removed any seeds. I spread the apple slices out on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Then the apples got a sprinkle of cinnamon. I placed them in a 250 degree oven for an hour and a half, flipping them over every 30 minutes. When they came out they were crispy and delicious!

What’s your favourite road trip snack?

